Why I am taking Digital Marketing Nanodegree

Why I am taking Digital Marketing Nanodegree

Why I have decided to take the Digital Marketing Nanodegree Program

Once upon a time, when I was young, I would follow my Dad to his shop. My father runs a local business where he sells clothing materials. Living barely just above the lower social class as a family, I had to learn the intricacies of the family business from a very young age.

Every day you open your store and wait for the customers to locate your business. Since the business location is in one of the largest markets in Nigeria, getting customers usually was not an issue as the products demand was high. However, one day I discovered a decline in the number of customers that patronize the business over the past few years. Because of that, I wanted to find new ways of reaching new customers and retaining the old customers. Digital marketing was the recommended avenue to build up new customers and improve sales, as almost everyone is on social platforms.

Because of that, my focus was on how digital marketing can help small and medium enterprises to improve sales and customer relationships with the business. I started to google for free courses that will help me get the best tools and tips on navigating digital marketing. Google's digital garage housed the best free digital marketing courses. The lessons from Google's digital marketing courses helped me set up my Google business accounts. However, I needed a program on what digital marketing entailed and to understand every other part of digital marketing and not just setting up a social media presence. I wanted to learn how to drive sales by improving my social presence and adding valuable content online.

Until finally, in late October 2021, Access Bank Plc offered scholarship opportunities in Digital marketing nanodegree. I registered and got in. The experience so far has been great. I have come to learn more about the world of digital marketing. I am interested in this path of digital marketing to help businesses make more sales and gain an online presence. So, my services are focused bring small and medium enterprises to the limelight.